So here we are, a new year…. a new beginning… and my second blog post in two days.  Some of you may be shocked.

After I wrote yesterday’s post I began to ponder the whole resolution thing.  I love goals.  I think last year I posted something about goals and not resolutions.  What is a resolution, anyway?  It’s a goal that you make with no definite ending, no due date, no repercussions if you fail.

My goal for the year is simple:  Find myself again.

How does that work, exactly?  That’s a really good question.

My sister bought me a wonderful calendar for Christmas.  It’s a Story People calendar, and if you aren’t familiar with Story People… well I think you should check it out.  The art isn’t for everyone… but the words.. the words will move you.  I guarantee that, if you go to that site and click through the sayings… you will find something which speaks to you.

Anyway, the story for January is as follows:  We sat side by side in the morning light & looked out at the future together.

Touching, really.

January is the month I look to my future and I begin to set goals again.  I’ll share them with you.  Here are my goals for January:

  • Work out 5 days/week.
  • Buy a battery for my scale (yep, it’s dead) and face the music on my weight.
  • Stop eating sugar on Monday’s and Wednesdays.

Those are what I’d like to be doing by the end of January.  There are a few things to note:  One, I do count the work out I get at the chiropractor as a work out.  Two, I have signed up for a class (and paid money) which will take place on Tuesdays and Thursdays and while I’m excited, I’m also scared to death of showing up at the first one.  Nervous, I’m nervous.  Three, I’m dreading that whole stepping on the scale thing.  Four, the sugar thing will likely start out with JUST Monday’s with the hope that I’ll nix sugar on Wednesdays as well by the end of the month.  I eat too much sugar.  I crave it too much.  It gets out of hand.  I need to start treating it as a luxury and not an every day given thing.

As far as work outs go… I will continue to try to find my stride there.  Getting up and getting moving 5 times per week will be good enough to start.  I’ll find a fitness goal sometime…somewhere.

