Writing.  And lots of it.

I first heard about National Novel Writing Month in 2008; November of 2008 to be exact.  It was somewhere around the second week of November when I stumbled upon the NaNoWriMo website and immediately fell in love with the idea.  The task is to write 50,000 words in a month.  No, we’re not writing quality novels here but while getting yourself to write 50,000 words of a story is a good move towards writing a novel, it’s more about the experience.

I jumped in feet first in 2008 and even though I began a week late, I made the 50,000 word deadline by the skin of my teeth on the final day.  I learned so much about myself during that month.  I learned about my overuse of “that” and “was” and realized the voice I use inside my head is really no good for book writing.

And you know something?  I’m totally ok with it.

For various reasons, last year’s NaNoWriMo project never really got off the ground and before I knew it, most of November had disappeared beneath a sea of new and seemingly insurmountable (then anyway) tasks such as calorie counting, exercising daily, watching what I eat and whatnot.  It just didn’t happen for me.

This year, however, my NaNoWriMo story has been brewing inside me for a long time just dying to come out.  So I’ve been making time for my little project.  It takes 1667 words per day to keep on track.  If you can imagine, it’s not always an easy task.

So please forgive the mess around here.  I’m spending 200% of my writing time (notice how I’m spending more time writing than I really have?) on my little project.  I promise I will return to near normal once November is over and the mad rush of typing comes to a halt.

And perhaps maybe next year some of you will join me in the craziness of NaNoWriMo!

