Sometime in what seems like the distant past (likely 6 weeks ago), I signed up for the Hot Chocolate 5K in Chicago.

Seriously, what could be better than running another 5k and then following it up with some chocolate?

(Do you really need time to think about that?  I think not.)

As my running has improved drastically in the past few weeks I’ve found myself growing more and more excited about this 5k.  I keep setting new time goals for myself and trying to figure out what is realistic for me.  Last week I felt pretty sure this would be an opportunity to improve my time by an astronomical amount.  My first 5k I came in just under 42 minutes.  My goal for the Hot Chocolate 5k?  Well, I’m thinking I could do it in 36 minutes, possibly less.

So, enter this past Saturday when I ran 5 miles and felt fantastic afterwards.  In fact, when I finished I thought “I could have run 6” which is, well, pretty amazing.  And so, I spent Sunday agonizing over a small thought which popped into my head:  Should I try for the 15k on November 6?

Let me tell you, I agonized.  All day Sunday I felt restless and nervous.  I even went for a long walk to try and clear my head.  I dug up the training schedule I’m currently working with to see what my mileage that day would be… and the result was 10 miles.

I Twittered, I posted on Facebook, I even sent texts to my dear sister asking if I should do it… if I should take the plunge.

And then, after reassuring myself everything would be ok… I took the plunge and wrote the email asking if I could change my registration.

Monday came and I had that horrible run and to be honest, I felt relieved I hadn’t heard anything back about upping my race to the 15k.  I mean, there’s no need to push it, there will be more chances for long races in the future.  Tuesday comes and I’m quite relieved not to have heard from them, it likely means my email will be ignored and I’ll be having a GREAT time running a 5k.  Easy.

Then last night, quite unexpectedly, the email appeared.  Now, I’d just sent a query asking if it was possible to change my registration and so I half anticipated some reply such as “yes it is possible, please let me know if you intend to do so yadda yadda yadda”.  I guess with up to 30,000 participants, that kind of personal attention is impossible because… well.. here is the email I got:

You know that feeling you used to get when you were little and you’d done something naughty and there was a slight instant when you KNEW you were going to get caught… you know, right before your Mom started yelling?

Yeah, that’s the feeling I got when I read that email.

It’s like… a done deal.

So yeah, I’m freaking out a bit because Monday’s run knocked down my confidence.  Plus, there are a million things I need to figure out between now and then (wardrobe, garmin/no garmin, hydration, etc) which I have no clue how to start figuring out. Oh, and you know, the fact that I’m going to run 9.3 miles.

I can do this.  I know I can.  I’m scared, but I can do it.  I’m afraid, but I can do it.

And when I do manage to cross that finish line… I’m pretty sure I’m going to have an epic tearfest.  I pretty much get one any time I think about the race in general.

So yeah, if anyone out there has any advice on what to wear, garmin/no garmin, hydration, etc… I could use it!  And… you know… if you want to give me some “you can do it’s” those would be appreciated too.

