You know how you think you know something and then it turns out you had no real clue?

Twitter is kinda like that for me.  I thought I knew all about Twitter.  I even joined once, eons ago, with the idea of keeping up with other Biology teachers across the nation.  As it turns out, Biology teachers in general are incredibly boring.  I soon abandoned Twitter after realizing I have nothing to say and those Biology teachers weren’t saying anything I couldn’t live without.

Fast forward a year an a half or two years, insert a blog… then insert blogging friends… then insert the idea that everyone is on Twitter… and… Let’s just say I got curious.

I joined Twitter.  You can follow me if you like.  I cannot promise I have anything of interest to say (apparently that Biology teacher affliction affects me as well) but I can say I’ve been having a great time so far and it’s likely hilarious just watching me stumble around in Twitter.

Some things I’ve learned so far:

  1. Most people have better access to Twitter than I do.  Whether it’s through fancy phones or not having every website in the world blocked while at work – most people seem to be able to Tweet, follow Tweets, and do other stuff on Twitter far more often than me.
  2. Twitter has it’s own language of symbols.  People are NOT swearing at you when you see symbols like @#!  These are even likely good things.
  3. RT is not a person with those initials.  If this were a person, they’d be the most popular person in the world.
  4. There is a Tuesday night at 9pm EST chat which is fantastic (and super busy and super bewildering for a newbie like myself) called #fitblog which uses one of those symbols, but is an incredibly friendly and informative place where many people go.

Yeah, that’s about all I’ve learned.  Last night, while in the midst of the #fitblog discussion, I had to laugh at myself for being so totally clueless.  I felt like one of those people who find themselves mystified by the internet and technology and that just usually isn’t me.

Fun times, fun times.

And, while I’m here I’ll give you the update from Monday’s run.  This was 30 minutes at a higher intensity level than Sunday.  I didn’t want to go.  At all.  It was 80 degrees out and that usually is a recipe for misery for me.

I won’t say it ended up not being miserable… because I quickly became dehydrated but I’ve gotten over my avoidance of stopping to take a drink… So, I merely ran by the car and took a drink, stopping the time when I did so.

I will say I am pleased with my average time during the 30 minutes.  Did you check out that high speed?  Avg being 5.1 mph isn’t too shabby for me, either.  I’m sure I could have gone faster on a better day as it was hot AND stupidly windy but I’ve begun ignoring the wind as a factor which could make me not run.  I mean, I run outside, the wind will happen… am I going to back out of an event because it’s a windy day?  I think not.

So, be that as it may.. the day was windy and hot and I still averaged 5.1 mph which makes me happy.  🙂

