It’s my latest read.

My latest quest to feel as though I fit in with this thing called running.

Oh yes, I’ll admit to having doubts.  I even voice them occasionally (read: often) on this blog.  I whine sometimes about how slow I am.  I whine about how fast others are.  Sometimes I remember to mention how much I’m loving the running.

And I really am loving it.  I swear.

Days when I run I find myself excited about it.  I don’t necessarily look forward to it all day long, but when I do think about it, it’s not with dread… it’s with a small smile on my face.

Thing is though, I’m not actually doing much in the line of training to improve.  I’m really just treading water.  And I’ve come to the conclusion lately that what I really want to do is run a marathon some day.

This book?  This book seems to hate the term some day.  I’ve got a schedule in my head though.  This year was the year of the 5k.  Next year will be the year of the 10k.  Then the year of the half.  Then the full.  I’ve got it all planned out, see?

I’m not sure this book will change that…. but it might.  What I’m really looking for here is to feel a part of something.  I’ve been doing all this running and so far it’s been mostly a solitary thing (you know, aside from that Reagan Run 5k)… and while this isn’t bad necessarily… It does make me wish for a group at times.  You know, camaraderie  and friendship and a good ol’ pat on the back and a heckovajob brownie.  Or at least something.

I’m tired of feeling ashamed of my speed, but I still am.  I’m tired of seeming to make no improvements, but I might be and just won’t know it.  I’m just tired of feeling like the running misfit.

So anyway, this book is already speaking to me.  Page 3 and it’s already offering me hope and I do desperately need some hope that I won’t always be a slow 3-miler.

“It doesn’t matter where you’re coming from.  It doesn’t matter how un-divine your running skills are.  It doesn’t matter how low you feel you rank among the ranks of mortals.  You can and will become a long-distance athlete.  We promise.  We’ve seen it happen.  We’ve seen mortals of every shape and size, of every type of fitness background, of every sort of lifestyle cross the marathon finish line.
You can be one of them.”

You know, sometimes you just need to hear someone say it.

I am Shrinking Girl (sometimes Incredible, often times a mere mortal).

The idea of anyone referring to me as an athlete, let alone a long distance one makes me giggle.  I do not feel like an athlete.  I have never been an athlete.  No one in the past would have ever called me an athlete.

I always sorta liked how the word looked though and I wouldn’t mind being one… and so I’m glad it doesn’t matter what size or shape I am (size: getting smaller all the time,  shape: relatively humanoid).  I’m glad my fitness background doesn’t matter (I’ve been exercising for a year now, does that make me a novice?).  I’m glad my lifestyle doesn’t matter either (computer junkies can run marathons too??).

So, as the post title suggest… you might be hearing a lot about this book in the near future. Maybe it’ll strike a chord with one of you as well.

