With the start of a new school year, I always find myself making transitions.

Last year, my biggest concern was my eating schedule and, with some sort of gift from the diet gods themselves, I managed to have a class schedule which enabled me to pretty much eat as I always had.

This year the concern is the running schedule.  My class schedule is far less conducive to eating the way I normally do and yet I’m really not concerned.  I’ve come a long way in my eating since last August and I’m sure I’ll figure it out.  My hunger?  Not an emergency.

All this being said I left work on Monday afternoon thankful for the lack of humidity and the 81F day.  I mean, we’ve certainly had worse lately.  The huge dilemma here is: do I head straight out to run even though it’s only 4pm or do I wait until 6ish when it might have cooled down?  Only problem with 6pm?  It messes with dinner time and when you go to bed at 9pm (yes, yes I do) pushing back dinner doesn’t always sit well with the sleeping tummy.

So I went to the park at 4:30 Monday.  The sun?  Blazing in the sky.  The wind?  A bit too strong.  The verdict?  Meh.  I did 2 miles, which is pretty normal for a Monday.  For some reason those Monday runs just kick my butt.  I whole heartedly blame the wind for some of my struggling though… it was brutal.

The odd thing though and this is what really stopped me from pushing for another mile… I got this pain low down on my left side.  I’d never gotten one so low before and it really hurt.  I had to stop running a couple of times to see if I could ease  the pain a bit.  It nearly always stopped immediately when I stopped running and would start up again after about 15 second of running.  It was the strangest thing… like a side stitch, just lower than I’d ever gotten one before.

Can you even get them that low?

All in all I’m pumped for this afternoon’s run.  It’s supposed to be another low 80’s day and so I’m hoping I’ll be able to pull off a good run, it’ll make me feel much better!

