I have a confession to make.

I look at myself in the mirror a lot.  Every time I get dressed (or fine, undressed) I scrutinize my body.  I look at how I’ve changed shape. I look at what I consider my problem areas to be . I look at bits I’d like to change.  I identify parts I love.  I look  at the parts which I feel make me uniquely me.

This is not the self-hating scrutiny you might expect it to be.

Oh sure.  Plenty of times in years past I’d look at my body the same way.  Far less frequently (obviously) than now because I hid from mirrors and scales back then.  I’d look at myself and I’d hate my belly rolls.  I’d hate my chubby thighs.  I’d hate the way my arms looked.  I’d hate my body.  I sorta think it hated me back, too.

Not the best working relationship.

My scrutiny these days is different.  I’m not perfect by any stretch of the imagination.  I keep saying this and I’ll say it again:  I’m still overweight by the doctor’s charts.  I still have belly rolls (since 5th grade…it’s all permanent like a tattoo and stuff).  I still have dimples in places other than my face.

But you know something? I love my body. For perhaps the first time in my life… I love my body.  And I’ll tell you why.  Are you ready?  You’re not ready.  Get ready.

I love my body because this is the body I’ve worked for.

Read it again.  Feel it.  That body I used to have?  I didn’t work for it.  I did the opposite of work for it.  I let that body happen to me.  I let genetics, poor eating habits, poor (read: no) exercise habits and likely a million other things GIVE me that body.

But this body?  This body I have right now?  I’ve earned this body.  I’ve worked for this body.  I’m PROUD of this body.  It’s the first body I’ve worked for…. and it’s mine.  For the first time in I don’t know how long, I’m claiming ownership.

So everyone out there on a weight loss or fitness journey… anyone doing this for the first time or maybe even for the 100th…. Take a moment and go look in the mirror.

See that body you’ve worked for.  Be proud of it!  No matter how small of an improvement you’ve made (lose half a pound so far?), this is the body you’ve worked for.  You should be proud of it.  Love it.

Sometimes a change of perspective is all it takes.  We get so focused on the body we WANT to have one day, we forget to appreciate what we have right now.

Do you see any changes in your body that you love?  Do you feel differently about yourself when you look in the mirror now?  Are you proud of the body you’ve worked for?

