I finished up week one of C25K on Thursday and went ahead and did the additional 5 minutes of running at 5mph afterwards.    I’m so pumped about being able to run at 6 mph that I’m really loving the running right now, it’s fantastic.  I just now finished up week two day one of the program (I’m just running every other day in order to try and push myself through more of the program before July 3).  Whew!  I felt really strong for the first minute of each of my 90 second segments, which is an awesome feeling.  The last 30 seconds started to drag, but that’s to be expected.  I made it through all 6 segments without thinking of giving up and quitting or doing any other such foolishness.  I wasn’t able to run for 5 minutes at the end though, I settled on 3.  Various reasons for the decision and I still feel pretty good about it.  I mean, it is above and beyond and whatnot, but at the same time, I’m not exactly a couch potato either.

As far as my Curves 200 workouts by the end of summer goal… I’m sitting somewhere around 152 I think.  I believe I started the goal somewhere around mid April with 118 so I think I’m doing pretty well with that.  The numbers are taking a hit this weekend as Curves is not open today or Monday due to Memorial Day… so I only managed to make it in 3 times this week.  I’m not all that concerned, I’m pretty determined to make this goal with time to spare.

School is out for the summer now and so I’m going to have more time on my hands.  I’ve got a long list of stuff I’d like to get done around the house but I also want to make an effort to get out of the house more.  Now, this should happen naturally with the bike riding, the running, and hopefully swimming (finally found a suit I liked today) but I’ve always been a wimp when it comes to heat and humidity and I’d like to change my unhealthy habit of being a shut-in during the summer…. so here’s hoping.

I went out to eat last night at a little place called Nat’s in Sycamore.  I checked out their menu before I went to give myself more time to make my food choice.  I’m trying to make better decisions on eating when I eat out so as to avoid any horrible IBS consequences.  I have to admit, I was a bit shocked that most of their salads contained meat… and then I realized I was looking for a meatless entree and had a moment of “woah, that’s different” and went with it.  I settled on a pasta dish which contained sun dried tomatoes, red and yellow bell pepper, pine nuts, broccoli, mushrooms and spinach with a white wine sauce.  It tasted really great!  It’s another bit of a victory for me as I wouldn’t have wanted 99% of those vegetables a year ago and now I think they’re quite good!  The serving size was ridiculous.

This is a bit under 1/2 of the leftovers I brought home and I likely ate about this much last night.  I could not believe how much food they set in front of me!

I did sample some deep fried dill pickles (wow, so unbelievably good) and we also split some dessert.  I did not suffer after leaving the restaurant though and so I count this as a win.  WooHoo!

I’ve got several BBQ’s this weekend in honor of Memorial Day and that means meat-galore.  Not too sure how I’ll handle it.  On one hand, I’m sure I’ll eat enough of everything else not to miss the meat at all calorie wise, and on the other hand… it’s been a long time since I’ve had a good brat…. I’m just not sure I’m actually going to want one.  New territory.

