Since I’ve been out of the running game for a while now and I’ve got this 5k run I’d like to do on July 3, I figured I’d better get a game plan going.

Then I hurt my back by being an idiot and spent the past week THINKING about running which, as well all know, is fairly ineffective.

I’ve been going back and forth on whether or not to start the C25K over again to get myself running at a decent (respectable) speed.  On one hand, I don’t have enough weeks to complete the program.  On the other hand, I’ve had great success with the program and I sort of like to stick with what works.  And then there is the whole thing of people taking me seriously.  After my sister ran her first 5k she told someone her speed and they said “Wow, at that pace I could literally run forever.”  Nice, supportive friend, I know.  So, I figure… I’ll make myself a respectably-paced runner (finally) and even though I won’t have made it to the whole 5k by July 3, I can just reduce my pace and see what happens.  Everyone is always talking about event day adrenaline anyway.

So last night I gathered up my courage and went to the treadmill.  The last time I attempted to run intervals at 6mph I practically fell off the treadmill.  It was a rather shattering moment when I realized I’m sloooooooow.  I stepped on the treadmill and, for the first time ever, strapped that little strappy thing to my clothes which will turn off the treadmill if you go flying backwards and started my podcast.  And you know something?  It wasn’t nearly as bad as I remembered 6 mph being.  Somewhere along the lines I must have improved a bit.  Now, it was not a picnic or a casual stroll through the park, but it was doable – very doable.  I was feeling it at the end of last couple of intervals but all in all, I’m really encouraged.  (Cue song change from Tom Petty’s Running Down a Dream to REM’s I am Superman.)

So here I go, training myself to do what I’ve been struggling to do for nearly a year now.  I’ll keep you updated!

