I love food blogs.  Seriously.  They give me lots of food inspiration.

I love them even more when they have recipes.

Over at Oh She Glows I recently saw two things I HAD to try:  In a jiffy spelt veggie burgers and the nut butter coated parsnip fries.  I made both for dinner this week and let me tell you… YUM.  A bit of a disclaimer here, I’m using the pictures from Oh She Glows because my phone was messed up and couldn’t take decent photos (yeah, I took the back off and couldn’t get it back on properly and so the hole for the camera wasn’t lined up properly).

First up:  In a Jiffy Spelt Veggie Burgers

and they looked just like this when I made them...only round

You can find the recipe for these here.

At first I thought I wouldn’t be able to make these in my dinky mini food processor, but everything fit although I did have issues getting the carrot to chop up all the way.

I made two modifications:  I don’t do onions so I left that out and I used oat flour because I don’t have spelt and I do have a bag of oat flour which needed to be used.

I keep going back and forth on whether or not these were too dry.  In the end I’m going to say no, the dryness gives it a very meaty texture.  The taste?  Fantastic!  I love them.  I’m already thinking about the next time I make them.   No, they don’t taste like hamburger (why would they?) but they are super good.

Second: Nut Butter Coated Parsnip Fries

you must make these...seriously

Now, I likely wouldn’t have tried these if Angela over at Oh She Glows hadn’t told me they’d change my life.  And if they can change your life, it’s worth a try, yes?  You can find the recipe here.

I’ve never dealt with parsnips before.  Cutting them up was easy enough though I must have cut mine smaller than Angela’s as mine did not need to bake as long.  The actual process itself is quite easy.  You mix together the nut butters and some oil, toss and lay them on a pan to bake (use parchment paper to save your sanity…seriously).

And then… you take them out of the oven… and you eat one and you say “hmm, that’s pretty good” and so you eat another and you find the flavor of the parsnip rather addicting…. and so you eat another… and then you force feed everyone who walks in your door.  Well, that’s what I did.  Good times.

I’m actually in the market for more recipes containing parsnip now, not a bad little veggie!

On other news.. my sister has asked if I want someone to run with me for the 5k.  Yes!  Thank you Shelly!

