I’m feeling it.

Granted, I’m incredibly busy right now but there is simply no other reason for my slacking off right now except for the simple fact of losing my most enjoyable work out.  Don’t worry, I’ve even done a double take on that last statement.  The mere fact of running having become my favorite work out is ridiculous.  It’s a love-hate relationship at best and at worst it’s making me injure my back far too often… and yet I seem to love to hate it.  At least I’ve got something which drives me, yes?

if I were a man, my back problem wouldn't be radioactive like this, but it would hurt in the radioactive area shown here

The good news is my back really is feeling better.  The bad news is I’m not certain it’ll be ready to go by the end of this week.  It’s amazing the difference I feel in it just in the past week and a half and I’m encouraged it might heal up nicely.  I’m also well aware of a lesson learned… it is better to rest up the injury right away rather than waiting and making it worsen with time.  Lesson learned and point taken.

On another note, I have finally come to a decision on my re-entry to running.  I will do the C25K program again.  Yes, yes I know 2 and a half weeks off doesn’t necessarily mean I need to start from the beginning but I am determined to make myself into the sort of runner I can be proud of.  I don’t think 10 minute miles are incredibly beyond my range and I just really feel as though I’m not a “real” runner until I hit that mark.  I’m also thinking of the sheer impact of such a feat: 3 miles in half an hour.  It’ll be a nice change from the near 45 minutes I spend now which adds up to almost an hour with my 5 minute warm up and cool down.  Running slowly takes tons of time and tons of time is something I really only have during the summer.

My goals have to be amended though.  No more will I be trying for that half marathon in May.  Instead I will sign up for a few 5K’s this summer and feel accomplished with those, striving for a half marathon next May.  It’s really better this way anyway as I’m not yet into running for a year yet and most sources I’ve looked at suggest being a runner for at least a year before taking on such an endeavor.

I look forward to creating new goals once I finish the C25K program again and I also look forward to a return to working out 6 days a week.  I’m missing it even while remaining unable to find the motivation to do it.  Odd, eh?

