My body hates me right now.  In return, I hate it back.  I’m so tired of not being able to do my running because of my back and yes, I realize taking a couple of weeks off might be just what the doctor ordered, except… I kinda already did that in the tail end of January and nothing got better.  Currently my body hates me because of Saturday.  I had to do my third work out at Curves for the week since I woke up late on Friday and decided not to go in.  No biggie except it’s Saturday and I still need to get 3 miles in of running before Sunday night is over or I’ll be behind on my February goal.  Three miles is easy you say?  Yep, it used to me.  Since my back got all buggered up though I’ve been doing no more than two since at the tail end of two my back is starting to groan.

So… Saturday marked the first time I did both Curves and running in a day.  Whew did that kick my butt!  I mean it.  My body basically wanted to know WTF I was thinking.  I did struggle through and made the two miles I had wanted to make and I felt good…. until I later went and sat through Avatar (fantastic movie).  Movie theater seats mixed with the Curves and the running meant I couldn’t hardly move when I returned home.  I did the best I could with ice and massaging the muscles as best I could but man it was agony.  Luckily I woke up Sunday much, much better… but not stupid enough to run the remaining mile I need to run to get caught up.  Right… so I start today a mile behind.  I might not make my goal and I might want to ask myself why I made such a stupid goal in the first place when my back is so bad right now.

Other than the back… working out twice in one day was sort of fantastic.   My glutes ached all day yesterday and my body was genuinely tired.  It’s times like those when I realize I am taking it rather easy with my workouts… and that’s ok with me.  I don’t want to invest more time in them as I don’t think I’d be able to maintain that forever.  Once in a while is one thing…. all the time is another.

Now, for the other reason my body hates me?  My IT band wants to kill me… or at the very least cause me enough pain so I hobble around and fall down some stairs.  I’ve known something was getting tight and I even figured it out a couple of weeks ago that my IT band must be the problem.  What I didn’t know is how hard it is to stretch the darned thing.  Seriously… I can’t get a decent stretch on it to save my life.  I’ve tried nearly every stretch I can find on the internet, a few my chiropractor gave to me and still I’m just not feeling it.  I mean, you’d think it’d be easy to stretch with it being so tight, yes?  Not so much.  I found a couple which seem to hit it ok and have watched a couple of youtube videos about working it out on a foam roller (which looks incredibly painful because I KNOW how much it’s going to hurt… I mean, I can’t even poke myself gently in the side of my hip without it hurting like mad and they want me to roll on the roller? OUCH).  It should be interesting as I really need to get it less tight.  It’s at the point now where my hip hurts over 50% of my waking day.

Who’d have ever thought I’d be beating my body up this much just for the chance to work out?  Who’d have thought I’d be so into running that I’m angry I can’t do it and frustrated I might not make my February goal?  Definitely not me.  I have to wonder though if there’s a point at which I’ll have to choose something else.  Surely it will be a disappointing day but at what point will I give up the running?  The answer is I’m not sure and I guess I’ll cross that bridge when I get there.

On a different note.  On Friday I finally broke down and ordered some powdered peanut butter.

I can’t help it.  I love peanut butter so much and this stuff is so low in calories.  Lots of reviews say it tastes great and I just HAD to try it.  My first choice wasn’t FitNutz but my first choice also charged an outrageous amount for shipping so I kept looking and found FitNutz.  They sell a no sugar added version, chunky and a pro version also but I started with the regular.  Better go with the most basic first and see how I like it.  If I do like it…. look out world… I’m going to be rolling in the peanut butter!  I can’t wait for it to come in and I will definitely let you know how it is when I get it!!!

