I’d never heard of fat acceptance until I started on this particular journey of mine complete with blog and searching through the posts of others for people on a similar journey.  You may notice I now have a few fat acceptance blogs in my links and you may even think this is strange since I’m striving to be a thinner person… and you know something, maybe it would be for a lot of individuals, but it certainly isn’t for me.  Allow me to tell you my thoughts on the subject.

I’m not sure if I’ve ever discussed my goal weight on this blog.  It’s 175 lbs.  I will still be in the category of overweight according to my bmi.  I will still be on the larger side of “normal” clothing sizes.  I will still be considered fat by a large number of the general population.  Why pick 175?  It’s a fairly arbitrary number but it is the number I can remember hovering around for years.  It’s a weight my body seems to enjoy.  It’s the weight I held steady at when I trained for the bike ride through Death Valley and rode an ungodly number of miles on my bike each week.  It’s also a number I feel good at.  I felt sexy and vibrant at that weight.  At 226, I did not feel either of those things.  As the weight has come off, I’ve begun to feel that way again.  My goal weight is the weight at which I feel sexy, I feel confident, I feel good, and the weight at which I’m not fighting with my body.  There are a lot of people who will likely think I’m giving up too soon when I reach that weight, and in all honesty, I have a game plan and if I accidentally lose more weight… well then it will be a nice oops.

With all of the above said, I don’t think it’s really ever been anyone’s business what my weight is (until the blog, obviously, when I made it anyone’s business).  My entire life, I’ve been on the chubby side.  I’ve been made to feel insignificant, ugly, small, ashamed and unworthy because of my weight.  Sure, kids will be kids, but adults have done their fair share of damage as well.  Saying rude, cutting, mean, inconsiderate remarks about a person’s weight is no different than any other kind of harassment where one person ridicules another for who they are.  Making a cutting remark about me being overweight is not any less shameful of an act than making a cutting remark about someone being homosexual.  Of course, society doesn’t see it this way, and that is precisely the problem.  People who spew mean things at the overweight individual make them a less vibrant person, less likely to live their life with meaning, more likely to hide indoors and away from the shame they feel when people judge them.  Not accepting people as they are only leads to people living diminished lives.

I also feel fat acceptance is a timely topic in the United States due to movement in healthcare reform.  There are so many individuals already spewing comments about “I don’t want to pay for some fat person’s healthcare because they can’t stop eating.”  It’s dangerous territory and opening the doors for a lot more harassment.  I cringe to think of the empowerment some people will feel when it comes to using the cost of healthcare as their latest stone to throw.  I also cringe to realize what some individuals find to be a healthy weight.  I wish I could find the photograph/blog now but a while ago I stumbled upon a blog talking about muffin tops.  The writer had posted a photo of a woman with said muffin top.  She likely wasn’t even overweight, her stomach was flat and yet the author was speaking about how gross her muffin top is, stressing that females should try to have as low of a body fat percentage as possible.  All I kept thinking was “What???”  If there are people out there finding fault in that woman’s body… then it will never stop…. and that is what frightens me the most.

