So, I’ve missed baking.  I strayed from making a batch of this or that sometime around February when I began to feel my weight.  I figured the last thing I needed would be a batch of cookies or brownies calling my name in the kitchen.  Now, the call of cookies in the kitchen is more than a bit tempting, but again, I’m well aware of my calories now and naturally I know how many calories are in each cookie (on average, of course).

Behold... the 68 calorie cookie.

Behold... the 68 calorie cookie.

One of the fantastic girls over at 3FC (see link under other links) posted a link to a blog called Active Life Cooking and this woman has taken so so many recipes and made them healthier.  And, while I know her intent is to make things healthier and more natural, I’m also trying to lose weight and so I decided to modify one of the recipes she got from the King Arthur Flour website (which she had also modified) and I came up with these delectable little treats.

They are made with whole wheat flour and yes, you can taste the difference but it’s not as though the taste of whole wheat flour is bad, I actually enjoy the difference.  I also substituted splenda for the white sugar and the brown sugar splenda blend for the brown sugar. (Oh!  I also used light butter) I did keep the honey since I think honey and wheat are an amazing combination.  I also only used 1/2 cup of each type of chocolate chips.

The need to control cookie size and to obsessively calculate the number of calories per cookie led me to Bed Bath & Beyond last night to buy a cookie scooper.  These were make with the small (2tsp) scoop.  The cookies are fairly small and due to lack of sugar they don’t spread well and so after the first sheet came out of the oven, I quickly decided to press the tops of each scoop down with the back of a measuring spoon dipped in water.

you can see flattened vs. unflattened here

you can see flattened vs. unflattened here

They taste really, really good.  The two types of chocolate are perfect and have knocked out the chocolate craving I’ve had for a month or so now.  (Yeah, I’ve been craving chocolate for THAT long without actually indulging… I deserve some sort of award.)  They even got the seal of approval from the husband so you KNOW they taste good!

