Sometimes I find myself wondering when exactly I lost out on my common sense education.  Seriously.  It’s annoying.  I realized a couple of weeks ago, maybe more, that I really don’t know how to make a yummy salad.  I have this friend who makes the most amazing salad combinations and then her husband whips up some homemade salad dressing which melds the flavors together in the most fantastic way.  I’ll settle for a yummy salad and store bought salad dressing.  I don’t need to make my own here.  However, I have found my own salads to be lacking… right down to the lettuce.  Now, I have never ever used iceberg lettuce in my salads.  I loathe that stuff.  I have always used romaine because I can actually stand the taste of it and I also once heard it has more nutrients.

Anyway.  I have salad envy.  I’m the person who buys the bag of salad.. the kind with the fixing and salad dressing all ready to go.  Why?  Because I like the mix of greens in the bag.  My romaine lettuce never seems like THEIR romaine lettuce.  Also, I have never whipped up a batch of “spring mix” greens.  Where do they come from?  And do normal people know what they are?  And if so, are they able to go out and buy them?

So…. I got this big idea to mix up my salads a bit.  You saw the photos, most likely of the romaine lettuce, the green leaf lettuce, and the spinach I bought this week.  I decided to throw them all together in an attempt to make my salad seem more like something I’d get out of a bag.  I mean… come ON, it’s salad… it shouldn’t be THAT hard, right?

As of right now I’ve just washed and torn up the lettuce so I can’t actually tell you if this does the trick.  But… I do have photos!!

ooooh, special!

ooooh, special!

I’m also excited to try a new salad dressing I happened to spy.  Greek feta and while it is certified organic, that’s not why I bought it.  I bought it because I love feta and it has 30 calories per tablespoon which is a far cry better than a lot of them.

totally LOOKS yummy

totally LOOKS yummy

You might have guessed I’m having a salad with my dinner tonight.  I’ll likely throw in some actual feta and some tomato but not much else sounds good right now.  I kind of have a craving for just the greens.  I found myself on a fruit kick for a few days straight and I’m coming off that craving a lot of vegetables (that’s totally new).  I need to modify and get a good balance or I’ll just end up swinging between too much fruit and then too many vegetables.  Work is proving to make the eating very difficult… but more on that after dinner!

