I’m continuing to love the C25K.  Today marks the last day of week 2 and I deliberately pushed myself.  After Tuesday – the first run of week 2 – when it felt… dare I say easy I decided to pay more attention to how fast I’m going.  I know, I know… I’m supposed to worry about that later but I figure as long as I don’t push myself too hard… it can only be a good thing.

So Thursday I went out and picked up the pace a little, greatly pushing myself in the last running interval.  It felt nice.  Today I had a goal.  I had an amount of ground I wanted to cover during the entire podcast (I use Robert Ullrey’s podcasts).  I still have no idea how far I’m going and I definitely don’t have the faintest idea how fast I’m going but I’m happy to say I met my goal today.  It’s really beginning to feel more natural which is so fantastic I don’t even have the words to express it without sounding a bit valley girl-ish.  “Like, ohmigod!  I’m totally doing this running thing and you like totally have absolutely no idea, I mean me!  A runner!”

Well, maybe that attempt is an insult to valley girls.  Do we even call it that anymore?  Great, now I sound old.

So yes, I do have a point…. let me get to it.

As I was talking/complaining to my sister yesterday I mentioned my running and she said she’d been doing more of it lately since she has a 5k at the end of the month.  So I asked her “do you still hate it?”  Her answer:  yes.  A while ago she told me she was doing the C25K and so I asked her if she completed the entire program.  Apparently she’d been running intervals for a while so it was too easy for her in the beginning and she kind of skipped ahead.  I’m not sure how much of a difference that makes but I think missing out on the whole thinking-it’s-impossible-but-managing-to-do-it-anyway bit might possibly take away the enjoyment.

I mean, I have always loathed running.  It’s been my nemesis ever since I found out I was slower than the other kids… and I’m pretty sure 70% of my enjoyment now is just doing something I thought was impossible.  Is that really what’s making the difference?

Week 3 starts on Tuesday and while 3 minutes of constant running might not sound like much to anyone reading this… it sounds like a lot to me.  (Here comes that fear that I won’t be able to do it!)

Wish me luck!

