Yet another trip to the grocery store.  I’m definitely spending more money there.  Not sure what to make of it yet.  I’m positive it’s likely going to equal out since we don’t eat out much anymore but it’s also a bit crazy to think of how much cheaper groceries were before I started wanting all sorts of fruit and vegetables, almond milk, lean meat, etc.  Hmmm.

this week's produce

this week's produce

Well, as you can see, I’ve got quite a bit of stuff this week.  The usual spinach is nearly hidden underneath the corn and bananas.  I did get both romaine and green leaf lettuce… something about my salads lately just hasn’t appealed to me.  I’m thinking if I mix those two together and then toss in some spinach it will appeal to me a bit more.  Blueberries just to eat this time (yum), more cherries because I’m now hooked (though the price wasn’t as phenomenal as it was last week, much to my dismay), some cherry tomatoes, a giant cantaloupe, some apples behind the red pepper and then… two new things….mango and avocado.  The mango I picked because I vaguely recalled enjoying one a while ago… but the avocado…

I’ve had avocado (outside of guacamole) once in my life, back in May in a salad a friend made for me.  I was generally unimpressed at the time.  It wasn’t BAD, but it wasn’t screaming out for me to love it.  This past week, I have been absolutely CRAVING avocado like mad.  I mean it, it’s been a constant thought for me.  So, since I’ve really only had it once, I figured maybe I was craving it for a specific reason and bought one.  I’ll throw it in my salad this week.

I’ve been home about 4 hours and I’ve already eaten the mango.  I looked up online how to cut them and managed to botch it terribly… an event I would have photographed if my camera weren’t low on batteries and my supply of AA’s mysteriously not where I usually keep them.  I managed to scrape together some mango to eat and on a whim, threw some blueberries in on top.

best combination ever

best combination ever

It was a genius idea.  I absolutely loved it and now wish I had more mangos to eat with my blueberries.  Fantastic stuff right there.

I’m delighted to have more fruit in the house.  I ran low towards the end of the week and when it came time to have my snacks and to find something to accompany my sandwich at lunch… I really just wasn’t satisfied with anything in the house… desperately wanted some fruit.  Somewhere out in the world… one of my friends is going to read that line and be shocked.

I did complain once more about the botched measurements, but only to bring the husband up to date.  I’ve also decided to fire my mailman who continues to deliver the wrong mail to my house and who ignored my raised flag today and just shoved my new mail in on top of the stuff I was sending BACK… and I know they didn’t look at it because I have a perfectly new letter waiting to be mailed on TOP of the entire pile.  GAH.  I’m also on a rampage about I-PASS.  They managed to mess up my account so badly they had to send me new transponders… and they want me to send back my old ones… and they want ME to pay for postage.  No way.  Not happening.  Their mistake, they foot the bill.  I’ll happily pay to send my transponders back when I’m done using I-PASS as per the user agreement, but this switcheroo… is on them.

Happy Weekend everybody!  I think I’m off to bale hay.

