So yesterday, as I was doing Week 1, Day 2 of Couch Potato to 5k I let my mind wander as I was trying to think of something to blog about.  Obviously I can usually ramble on about nothing in particular but I was having a bit of a brain fart yesterday.  I settled on talking about Red Robin, wrote my post and went on my way to acupuncture/chiropractor.  A couple hours later, I return and check my dashboard to see if the usual suspects had visited my blog and if anyone had left comments.

Mind you, I’m thrilled when I get 18 visitors to my blog… When I checked yesterday the count was at 430 and I began to have some sort of heart palpitations.  Moments later I figured out I was on the main page as a hawt post and the visitor count just soared.  861.  861 hits yesterday.  Totally unexpected.

As I read through the comments, most were hugely positive and I want to thank everyone for stopping by, reading and maybe even posting a comment.  Normally I respond to comments but there are lots and that would take me forever.  A few comments were annoying, but you’ll have that.  A few commenters missed the point, but again, you’ll have that as well.  There will never be a time when everyone will agree with something I think… well, if that can happen I think we should all agree on me being the undisputed dictator of the entire world. 🙂

I’m insanely curious as to how many people liked my blog enough to stop by again and share my journey with me.  I guess time will tell!

Now, on to other things.  Grocery shopping today!  I’ve become really, really into grocery shopping.  Don’t ask me why.  Maybe it’s just that I enjoy seeing how much time I spend in the produce dept now.  I fill up half my cart there these days and I must say, I’m really enjoying summer and all the cheap stuff I can get right now.  Which brings me to pictures! (Yes, again.)

8 pints this time because they were soooo cheap

8 pints this time because they were soooo cheap

First, a colossal amount of blueberries.  Now, I won’t eat them all in a week (but I totally could) but I couldn’t resist buying a bunch since I freeze them anyway for use in my smoothies.  I used to be unimpressed with the flavor of blueberries, thinking they were quite bland and tasteless… I was a schmuck.  Forgive me, blueberries of the past whom I so horribly wronged!

the dirtiest strawberries, EVER

the dirtiest strawberries, EVER

Strawberries were the same price as always but I had to crack up as I was chopping the tops off of these.  They were the dirtiest strawberries I’d ever encountered.  Normally I halfheartedly wash the strawberries as I cut them.  No way, not these!  They had dirt caked on them… seriously.  When I first saw the dirt I said “woah, what the heck is that!” then I blushed because it’s obviously dirt and yes, I am aware that strawberries grow out of the ground.  They’re squeaky clean now, no worries!

some of the other stuffs

some of the other stuffs

An unimpressive photo, likely, for anyone who’s been eating healthy for a long time.  I’m new to this though, bear with me.  First, the almond milk.  YUM.  I will never go back to soy milk!  Second, the spinach there is the amount that I’ll drink in a week in my smoothies.  It’s shocking to me, you can roll your eyes all you want but I’m impressed!  I’d never have eaten that much green before!  The obvious lettuce and bananas and then finally….

venturing into the unknown

venturing into the unknown

The cherries.  They were 99 cents per lb and looked soooo good that I had to buy them.  I’ve never bought or had cherries like this before.  I’ve had the fantastic cherries you put on top of sundaes and I’ve even picked and pitted and made pies out of the cherries which used to grow in my backyard as a kid.. but never had them like this.  I’m sort of at a loss for what to do with them… but for 99 cents a lb, I figured I could buy them and sort it out later.  I tried one before I sat down to blog and they’re pretty good!

What do you guys do with cherries?

The post is getting long, so I’m going to save all the other stuff bumbling around in my brain for later.

